ATTENTION: Are you getting your motorcycle endorsement? Make sure you satisfy your state's insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
Ready to get on the road with your trike or autocycle?
Keep reading for an overview of the licensing, registration, and insurance requirements for 3-wheel motorcycles in Arizona.
Do you Need a Motorcycle License for a Trike in Arizona?
In Arizona, you will need a valid motorcycle license to operate a trike.
You’ll have the option to test on a 3-wheel motorcycle, which limits your endorsement to ONLY trikes.
For more information, please check out our guide on how to get a motorcycle license in Arizona.
Do you Need a Motorcycle License for an Autocycle in Arizona?
In Arizona, a motorcycle license is not required to operate an autocycle like a Slingshot. A valid Arizona driver’s license is all you need to legally drive one.
Arizona 3 Wheel Motorcycle License Test
In order to get a trike motorcycle license, you’ll need to:
- Pass a motorcycle knowledge exam.
- Pass a motorcycle skills test.
If you complete an approved motorcycle training course, you will not need to pass the skills test and written exam with the AZ MVD.
Testing on a 3-wheel motorcycle or completing a 3-wheel basic rider course will limit your license to 3-wheel motorcycles only.
Prepare for your DMV tests with our Arizona motorcycle permit practice test.
Be sure to refer to your state’s motorcycle operator handbook and the 3-wheel motorcycle supplement from MSF.
How to Register a Trike or Autocycle in Arizona
Arizona title and registration for 3-wheel motorcycles, trikes, and autocycles is a similar process to that of 2-wheel motorcycles.
In general, you’ll need the following items and information:
- Proof of ownership (Title, MCO, previous registration documents, Bill of Sale).
- An application for registration and title.
- Proof of completion of any necessary safety inspections.
- Proof of insurance coverage.
- Payment for your license plates, registration fees, and taxes.
For more details on registering and titling your trike or autocycle, please refer to our guides on the following topics:
- Arizona Motorcycle Registration & Title Overview
- Arizona Motorcycle Registration & Registration Renewals
- Arizona Motorcycle Title Transfers
Arizona Insurance Requirements for 3-Wheel Motorcycles and Autocycles
You will need to at least carry minimum liability coverage to register and ride a trike in Arizona.
The minimum requirements include:
- $15,000 for bodily injury of a single individual.
- $30,000 for bodily injury per accident.
- $10,000 for property damage per accident.
The right insurance coverage is a good idea to protect yourself, your financial health, and your vehicle in the event of an accident, theft, or damage.
Get more details in our guide to motorcycle insurance here.
Need a quote? Find the right autocycle or trike insurance policy with our free quote tool.
Learn more about trike insurance.
Note that state laws and regulations are subject to change, for any questions or further details about 3-wheel motorcycles in Arizona, please contact the DMV or visit their official website.