Ready to get on the road with your trike or autocycle?
Keep reading for an overview of the licensing, registration, and insurance requirements for 3-wheel motorcycles in Nebraska.
Do you Need a Motorcycle License for a Trike in Nebraska?
A valid motorcycle license is required to ride a trike.
For more information, please check out our guide on how to get a motorcycle license in Nebraska.
Do you Need a Motorcycle License for an Autocycle in Nebraska?
In Nebraska, a motorcycle license is not required to operate an autocycle like a Slingshot. A valid Nebraska driver’s license is all you need to legally drive one.
Nebraska 3 Wheel Motorcycle License Test
In order to get a trike motorcycle license, you’ll need to:
- Pass a motorcycle knowledge exam.
- Pass a motorcycle skills test.
If you complete an approved motorcycle training course, you will not need to also take the DMV motorcycle tests.
Completing your tests or training on a trike will limit your license to 3-wheel motorcycles only.
Prepare for your DMV tests with our Nebraska motorcycle permit practice test.
Be sure to refer to your state’s motorcycle operator handbook and the 3-wheel motorcycle supplement from MSF.
How to Register a Trike or Autocycle in Nebraska
Nebraska title and registration for 3-wheel motorcycles, trikes, and autocycles is a similar process to that of 2-wheel motorcycles.
In general, you’ll need the following items and information:
- Proof of ownership (Title, MCO, previous registration documents, Bill of Sale).
- An application for registration and title.
- Proof of completion of any necessary safety inspections.
- Proof of insurance coverage.
- Payment for your license plates, registration fees, and taxes.
For more details on registering and titling your trike or autocycle, please refer to our guides on the following topics:
- Nebraska Motorcycle Registration & Title Overview
- Nebraska Motorcycle Registration & Registration Renewals
- Nebraska Motorcycle Title Transfers
Nebraska Insurance Requirements for 3-Wheel Motorcycles and Autocycles
Motorcycle insurance coverage is required to ride and register trikes and autocycles in Nebraska.
The minimum liability coverage limits are:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person.
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.
- $25,000 for property damage per accident.
The right insurance coverage is a good idea to protect yourself, your financial health, and your vehicle in the event of an accident, theft, or damage.
Get more details in our guide to motorcycle insurance here.
Need a quote? Find the right autocycle or trike insurance policy with our free quote tool.
Learn more about trike insurance.
Note that state laws and regulations are subject to change, for any questions or further details about 3-wheel motorcycles in Nebraska, please contact the DMV or visit their official website.