Getting your motorcycle license? Make sure you have insurance in place for when you hit the road. Answer the questions below to compare custom quotes.
⚠️ ATTENTION: Ready to get your motorcycle license? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
Ready to get on the road with your trike or autocycle?
Keep reading for an overview of the licensing, registration, and insurance requirements for 3-wheel motorcycles in South Carolina.
Do you Need a Motorcycle License for a Trike in South Carolina?
No, you can ride a trike in South Carolina with your standard driver’s license.
However, it may be a good idea to get your motorcycle endorsement as well.
For more information, please check out our guide on how to get a motorcycle license in South Carolina.
Do you Need a Motorcycle License for an Autocycle in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, a motorcycle license is not required to operate an autocycle like a Slingshot. A valid South Carolina driver’s license is all you need to legally drive one.
South Carolina 3 Wheel Motorcycle License Test
A standard driver’s license is sufficient for riding a trike. However, a motorcycle license is a smart thing to get in order for you to be as safe a rider as possible.
In order to get a motorcycle license, you’ll need to:
- Pass a motorcycle knowledge exam.
- Pass a motorcycle skills test.
If you complete an approved motorcycle training course, you will not need to take the DMV skills test.
Prepare for your DMV tests with our South Carolina motorcycle permit practice test.
Be sure to refer to your state’s motorcycle operator handbook and the 3-wheel motorcycle supplement from MSF.
How to Register a Trike or Autocycle in South Carolina
South Carolina title and registration for 3-wheel motorcycles, trikes, and autocycles is a similar process to that of 2-wheel motorcycles.
In general, you’ll need the following items and information:
- Proof of ownership (Title, MCO, previous registration documents, Bill of Sale).
- An application for registration and title.
- Proof of completion of any necessary safety inspections.
- Proof of insurance coverage.
- Payment for your license plates, registration fees, and taxes.
For more details on registering and titling your trike or autocycle, please refer to our guides on the following topics:
- South Carolina Motorcycle Registration & Title Overview
- South Carolina Motorcycle Registration & Registration Renewals
- South Carolina Motorcycle Title Transfers
South Carolina Insurance Requirements for 3-Wheel Motorcycles and Autocycles
In South Carolina, you will need to have a valid motorcycle insurance policy for your trike or autocycle in order to register and ride it on public streets.
The minimum liability limits are $25,000 per person bodily injury coverage, $50,000 per accident bodily injury coverage, and $25,000 property damage per accident.
The right insurance coverage is a good idea to protect yourself, your financial health, and your vehicle in the event of an accident, theft, or damage.
Get more details in our guide to motorcycle insurance here.
Need a quote? Find the right autocycle or trike insurance policy with our free quote tool.
Learn more about trike insurance.
Note that state laws and regulations are subject to change, for any questions or further details about 3-wheel motorcycles in South Carolina, please contact the DMV or visit their official website.