Ready to get on the road with your trike or autocycle?
Keep reading for an overview of the licensing, registration, and insurance requirements for 3-wheel motorcycles in Texas.
Do you Need a Motorcycle License for a Trike in Texas?
Yes, you must have a valid motorcycle license to ride a trike in Texas.
For more information, please check out our guide on how to get a motorcycle license in Texas.
Do you Need a Motorcycle License for an Autocycle in Texas?
In Texas, a motorcycle license is not required to operate an autocycle like a Slingshot. A valid Texas driver’s license is all you need to legally drive one.
Texas 3 Wheel Motorcycle License Test
In order to get a trike motorcycle license, you’ll need to:
- Pass a motorcycle knowledge exam.
- Pass a motorcycle skills test.
If you complete an approved motorcycle training course, you will satisfy the TX DPS motorcycle testing requirements.
Testing on a trike will limit your motorcycle license to 3-wheel motorcycles only.
Prepare for your DMV tests with our Texas motorcycle permit practice test.
Be sure to refer to your state’s motorcycle operator handbook and the 3-wheel motorcycle supplement from MSF.
How to Register a Trike or Autocycle in Texas
Texas title and registration for 3-wheel motorcycles, trikes, and autocycles is a similar process to that of 2-wheel motorcycles.
In general, you’ll need the following items and information:
- Proof of ownership (Title, MCO, previous registration documents, Bill of Sale).
- An application for registration and title.
- Proof of completion of any necessary safety inspections.
- Proof of insurance coverage.
- Payment for your license plates, registration fees, and taxes.
For more details on registering and titling your trike or autocycle, please refer to our guides on the following topics:
- Texas Motorcycle Registration & Title Overview
- Texas Motorcycle Registration & Registration Renewals
- Texas Motorcycle Title Transfers
Texas Insurance Requirements for 3-Wheel Motorcycles and Autocycles
In Texas, you’ll need a current motorcycle insurance policy in order to register and ride your trike or autocycle.
Minimum liability limits are $30K/$60K/$25K.
The right insurance coverage is a good idea to protect yourself, your financial health, and your vehicle in the event of an accident, theft, or damage.
Get more details in our guide to motorcycle insurance here.
Need a quote? Find the right autocycle or trike insurance policy with our free quote tool.
Learn more about trike insurance.
Note that state laws and regulations are subject to change, for any questions or further details about 3-wheel motorcycles in Texas, please contact the DMV or visit their official website.