Minimum Age to Get a Motorcycle License

ATTENTION: Are you getting your motorcycle endorsement? Make sure you satisfy your state's insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.

Please enter your zip to get started:

Just like the process for getting a standard driver’s license, each state has minimum age requirements to get a motorcycle endorsement. 

In order to ride legally, avoid legal consequences, and reduce your risk of causing an accident, you’ll need to abide by your state’s licensing process. 

On this page, we’ll cover the minimum age that you’ll be able to start riding a motorcycle in each state. 

Note that the minimum age requirements for motorcycle passengers vary from state to state too.

At what age can you get a motorcycle license?

The exact age at which you can get your motorcycle license will vary from state to state. 

In most states, the minimum age to ride a motorcycle is:

  • 16 years old with completion of a rider education course. 
  • 18 years old without completing a rider education course. 

Some states, like Alabama, Arkansas, Missouri, North Dakota, and Wisconsin may offer a motorcycle license to riders as young as 14 years old with the restriction that they can only operate motorcycles under a certain engine size. 

Note that if the applicant is younger than 18 years old, the state’s Graduated Driver’s Licensing laws will apply. This will typically include:

  • Holding a learner’s permit for a minimum time period. 
  • Completing a training course. 
  • Completing a number of supervised riding hours. 
  • Riding unsupervised with certain restrictions. 

Motorcycle permits, which will allow you to practice riding, are often available starting at 14 to 15 ½ years old in many states. 

While some states will require you to hold a standard driver’s license before you can get a motorcycle license, that doesn’t mean you can ride a motorcycle with a car license

Other states offer motorcycle-only licenses. 

Don’t make the mistake of riding a motorcycle without a license – the consequences will set you back and you’ll be putting yourself and others at risk. 

Find your state below to learn about the minimum age, permit requirements, and training requirements for a motorcycle endorsement. 

Note that state laws and regulations are subject to change, be sure to refer to your state DMV for the most up-to-date information. 

Alabama

The minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Alabama is:

  • 16 for a standard Class M license. 
  • 14 for a motor-driven cycle license. 

Alaska

In Alaska, riders will need to be at least 16 years old. 

Arizona

Arizona’s minimum motorcycle license age is:

  • 16 years old with rider’s education. 
  • 18 years old without. 

Arkansas

The minimum age to ride in Arkansas is 14 (CC restricted) or 16 years old (standard motorcycle license).

California

The minimum age for a motorcycle license in California is:

  • 16 with a rider training course. 
  • 21 years old without. 

Colorado

Colorado riders must be at least 16 years old to get a motorcycle license. 

Connecticut

The minimum age for a CT motorcycle license is 16 years old. All riders must first complete a rider training course. 

Delaware

Delaware requires you to be:

  • 17 years old with completion of a training course. 
  • 18 years old without. 

Florida

All riders in Florida are required to complete rider’s education. 

The minimum age for a license is 15 years old. 

Georgia

Georgia’s minimum age for a motorcycle license is 17 years old. 

Hawaii

In Hawaii, you must be:

  • 16 with rider training.
  • 18 without.

Idaho

Idaho motorcycle licenses are available at:

  • 15 years old with rider training. 
  • 21 without. 

Illinois

In Illinois, the minimum age is:

  • 16 with rider training. 
  • 18 without. 

Indiana

The minimum age for an IN motorcycle license is 16 ½ years old. 

Iowa

Iowa riders must be:

  • At least 16 years old with rider training. 
  • 18 years old without. 

Kansas

The minimum age for a motorcycle license in Kansas is 16 years old. 

Kentucky

In Kentucky, riders must be:

  • 16 ½ with rider’s education. 
  • 18 years old without. 

Louisiana

Louisiana requires riders to be at least 16 years old to get a motorcycle license. 

Maine

Rider’s training is required for all new riders. The minimum age is 16 years old. 

Maryland

In Maryland, a motorcycle license is available at:

  • 16 ½ with rider training. 
  • 18 without. 

Massachusetts

Massachusetts riders can get their license at:

  • 16.5 with rider’s education. 
  • 18 years old without.

Michigan

A Michigan motorcycle license is available at:

  • 16 years old with rider’s training. 
  • 18 years old without.

Minnesota

Minnesota requires riders to be at least:

  • 16 years old with rider’s education. 
  • 18 years old without. 

Mississippi

In Mississippi, you’ll need to be at least 16 ½ years old for a motorcycle license. 

Missouri

In Missouri, a motorcycle license is available at 16 years old. 

A CC-restricted license is available at 15 ½ with completion of rider’s education. 

Montana

Montana motorcycle riders must be at least:

  • 15 years old with rider’s education. 
  • 16 years old without. 

Nebraska

A Nebraska motorcycle license is available at 17 years old. 

Nevada

Nevada riders must be at least:

  • 16 years old with rider training. 
  • 18 years old without.

New Hampshire

In New Hampshire, a motorcycle license is available at:

  • 16 with rider training. 
  • 18 without. 

New Jersey

A New Jersey motorcycle license is available for riders:

  • 17 years old with rider’s education. 
  • 18 years old without. 

New Mexico

In New Mexico, a motorcycle license is available at:

  • 16 with rider’s education. 
  • 18 without. 

A CC-restricted motorcycle license is also available at 13 years old with rider education. 

New York

New York riders must be at least:

  • 16 years old with completion of rider training. 
  • 18 years old without.

North Carolina

In North Carolina, the minimum age for a motorcycle license is:

  • 16 years old with rider training. 
  • 18 years old without. 

North Dakota

A North Dakota motorcycle license is available at:

  • 14 years 2 months old for a CC-restricted license and completion of rider training. 
  • 16 years old without rider’s training. 

Ohio

OH DPS offers motorcycle licenses for riders:

  • 16 years old with rider training. 
  • 18 without. 

Oklahoma

An Oklahoma motorcycle license is available at:

  • 16 with rider training. 
  • 18 without. 

Oregon

In Oregon, all riders must complete a training course. 

The minimum age for a license is 16 years old. 

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania riders must be:

  • 16 ½ years old with rider training. 
  • 18 years old without. 

Rhode Island

In Rhode Island, motorcycle training is required for all new riders. The minimum age for an endorsement is 16 years old. 

South Carolina

South Carolina offers a motorcycle license at:

  • 15 ½ years old with rider training. 
  • 17 years old without. 

South Dakota

A South Dakota motorcycle license is available as young as 14 years old. 

Tennessee

Tennessee motorcycle licenses are available at 15 years old for a CC-restricted license or 16 years old. 

Texas

All new riders must complete rider training in Texas. The minimum age is 15 years old for a CC-restricted motorcycle license or 16 years old. 

Utah

The minimum age to ride in Utah is:

  • 16 years old with rider training. 
  • 16 years 2 months old without. 

Vermont

A VT motorcycle license is available at 16 years old.

Virginia

In Virginia you can get a motorcycle license at:

  • 16 years 3 months old with rider training. 
  • 19 years old without rider training. 

Washington

A Washington state motorcycle license is available at:

  • 16 years old with rider training. 
  • 18 years old without. 

Washington DC

The minimum age for a motorcycle license in DC is 18 years old. Rider’s training is required for everyone. 

West Virginia

In West Virginia, a motorcycle license is available at 18 years old. 

Wisconsin

Wisconsin offers motorcycle licenses at:

  • 14 years old for a CC-restricted license with completion of rider training course. 
  • 16 years old with completion of a rider training course. 
  • 18 years old without. 

Wyoming

In Wyoming you can get a motorcycle license at:

  • 16 ½ with rider training. 
  • 17 years old without. 

Youngest Age to Ride a Motorcycle

The youngest age to ride a motorcycle is 14 years old for states with the lowest age requirement.

In most states, the youngest age to ride is 16 years old. 

In some states, moped licenses are available to younger riders too. 

How long does it take to get licensed?

Depending on the state you live in and how old you are, it will take anywhere from a week or so to up to 6 months to 1 years to get your full motorcycle license. 

In many states, new riders who are at least 18 years old can potentially get their license within a week if they complete a motorcycle training course. 

Younger riders will typically need to hold a motorcycle permit for a minimum amount of time and complete a training course before they’ll be able to get the full endorsement. 

Learn how to get a motorcycle license in your state.

What is the easiest state to get a motorcycle license?

Alabama is probably the easiest state to get a motorcycle license. 

A CC-restricted endorsement is available for riders as young as 14 years old, and a standard driver’s license is not required. 

You’ll need to pass the AL DPS motorcycle knowledge test OR complete a MSF rider training course. 

Additionally, there is no motorcycle skills test required by the DPS.