⚠️ ATTENTION: Getting your motorcycle license? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please enter your ZIP to get started:
If you are a resident of Florida and want to legally ride a motorcycle, you’ll need to hold a valid motorcycle license or permit.
We’ll provide you of an overview of the process and some tips on getting your FL motorcycle endorsement as quickly as possible.
Overview of the FL Motorcycle License Requirements
A Florida motorcycle-only license or motorcycle endorsement on your standard license is required to ride:
- 3-wheel motorcycles and trikes. (See 3-Wheel Motorcycle Laws in Florida)
- Motorcycles with engine of over 50cc. (See Florida Moped License)
You must be at least 16 years old to apply.
To apply for a motorcycle license or endorsement in Florida, you’ll need to:
- Visit the Florida DHSMV office.
- Complete an application.
- Provide proof of your identification, residency, and legal presence.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pay the required application and testing fees.
- Complete an approved motorcycle safety training course.
Please visit https://www.flhsmv.gov/ for official application information and to schedule appointments.
What tests do you need to pass for a motorcycle license in Florida?
The tests you’ll need to pass for your motorcycle license in Florida will depend on whether or not you already hold a different type of driver’s license.
If you do not hold a car driver’s license already, you’ll be required to pass the:
- Knowledge test for a Class E driver’s license.
- Pass the motorcycle written exam during your BRC course.
- Pass the skills portion of your BRC.
If you already have a FL Class E driver’s license, you’ll only need to pass the tests during your Basic Rider Course.
Florida Motorcycle-Only License
A motorcycle-only license allows you to only ride motorcycles.
If you are under 18 years old, you’ll need to hold a learner’s permit for at least 1 year before you receive your full motorcycle-only license.
To qualify, you’ll need to:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Pass the Class E driver’s license knowledge test.
- Complete an approved motorcycle education course.
- Present your completion certificate to the FLHSMV.
- Pay the licensing fees.
Florida Motorcycle Endorsement
To apply for a motorcycle endorsement, you’ll need to already hold a regular driver’s license (Class E).
You’ll need to complete a Basic Rider Course.
Within 1 year of passing the course, you’ll need to visit your local DMV office to present the certificate and pay the fee for your endorsement.
3-Wheel Motorcycles, Trikes, and Sidecars in Florida
Restricted motorcycle endorsements are available for:
- 3-wheel motorcycles.
- Sidecar motorcycles and trikes.
To apply for one of these, you’ll need to complete a 3 wheel Basic Rider Course (3WBRC) or a Sidecar/Trike Education Program (S/TEP).
When you pay for your license, an “S” restriction will be added.
Basic Rider Courses (BRC) in Florida
All new riders in Florida are required to complete a Basic Rider Course through a FRTP authorized provider.
The course will consist of classroom training and on-cycle practice, and will conclude with a knowledge exam and skills test.
The cost of the course typically ranges from $200 to $300.
After you pass the course, you’ll receive a completion certificate.
Next, you’ll need to visit your local driver’s license office to present the completion certificate and pay the fees for your motorcycle endorsement.
For more information, check out our page on Florida motorcycle rider training.
How long does it take to get a motorcycle license in Florida?
Since receiving your Florida motorcycle license is dependent on completing a Basic Rider Course, the time it takes to get your endorsement will be determined by how quickly you can complete the course and visit the DMV to pay your fees.
Most courses can be completed within 1 weekend.
Depending on where you live, you should be able to visit the DMV office and pay your fees within that same week.
Note, if you are under 18 years old, you’ll need to hold a learner’s permit for at least 1 year.
How much is a motorcycle license in Florida?
The fees for your FL motorcycle license may include:
- Motorcycle Endorsement: $7.
- Leaner’s License: $48.
- Motorcycle-only license: $48.
- Transaction fee: $6.25.
Transfer an Out-of-State Motorcycle License When Moving to Florida
If you’ve recently moved to Florida, you can transfer your out-of-state motorcycle license or endorsement. To do so:
- Visit your local DMV office.
- Surrender your out-of-state license.
- Complete the application and provide proof of your identity, residency, and legal presence.
- Pay the required application fees.
- Pass an eye exam.
- Pass the Florida motorcycle written exam.
If your out-of-state motorcycle license/endorsement is valid you typically will not need to pass a road test or complete another motorcycle safety course.
Once you’ve received your motorcycle license, be sure to come back to MotorcycleZombies.com to learn how to title and register a motorcycle in Florida.