ATTENTION: Are you getting your motorcycle endorsement? Make sure you satisfy your state's insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
In order to legally ride a motorcycle on public roads in Georgia, you’ll need to have a valid motorcycle license.
The Georgia DDS offers 2 types of motorcycle endorsements:
- Class M Motorcycle License.
- Class MP Permit.
In order to receive your full Class M license, you can either:
- Complete a Motorcycle Safety Program Basic Course.
- Pass the Georgia DDS Knowledge Exam and the on-cycle skills test at a DDS Customer Service Center.
3-Wheel Motorcycles, Scooters, and Mopeds in Georgia
Depending on the type of motorcycle, 2-wheel, or 3-wheel vehicle you plan to ride, you’ll need to be sure to comply with Georgia’s driver’s license requirements for each type of vehicle.
3-wheel motorcycles, or trikes, that are controlled by a handlebar and feature a saddle seat require a motorcycle endorsement. You can read more about 3-wheel motorcycle license requirements in Georgia here.
An autocycle, which features 3-wheels and a steering wheel, only requires a standard Class C driver’s license.
Scooters with an engine size of over 50cc require a motorcycle license.
Mopeds, which are defined as having an engine of no more than 50cc do not require a motorcycle endorsement. You can read more about Georgia moped license and registration requirements here.
GA Motorcycle License Requirements
To apply for a motorcycle license or motorcycle instructional permit in the state of Georgia, you’ll need to:
- Visit the Georgia DDS office.
- Complete an application.
- Provide proof of your identification, residency, and legal presence.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pay the required application and testing fees.
- Pass the motorcycle written knowledge exam and the motorcycle road skills test OR complete an approved motorcycle safety training course.
You must be at least 17 years old to receive a Class M license.
If you are under 18 years old, you’ll need to meet the Joshua’s Law Requirements as well, which include requirements for driver’s ed, behind-the-wheel training, and supervised driving.
Please visit https://dds.georgia.gov/ for official application information and to schedule appointments.
GA Motorcycle License (Class M)
In order to receive your full GA motorcycle license, you’ll need to visit your local DDS office with the following:
- Complete the Online License Form: https://dds.drives.ga.gov/?link=SkipAStep
- Provide proof of your ID, Georgia address, US citizenship or legal presence, and your full Social Security Number.
- Pass a Vision Exam.
- Take your license photo.
- Pass a Knowledge Exam, if necessary.
- Pass the skills test or present your 90-day motorcycle skills test waiver.
- Pay the licensing fees.
Georgia Motorcycle Skills Test
Note that if you plan to take your on-cycle skills test at a DDS office, you will need to make an appointment first.
On the day of your test, you’ll need the following:
- Your own street-legal motorcycle with current safety inspection, registration, and motorcycle insurance.
- DOT-approved helmet and eye protection.
- Appropriate riding gear.
Georgia Class M Instructional Permit (MP)
If you are at least 16 years old, you can apply for a motorcycle instruction permit which will allow you to practice your riding skills and complete a Basic Rider Course before you turn 17 years old.
Restrictions with a Georgia motorcycle permit include:
- Daylight hours riding only.
- No passengers.
- No freeways or limited access roads.
- All safety equipment required including a DOT-approved motorcycle helmet.
A Class MP learner’s permit is valid for 6 months.
Georgia Motorcycle Safety Program Course
By completing and passing an approved Georgia Motorcycle Safety Program (GMSP), you’ll receive a 90-day license test waiver.
The 90-day skills test waiver is available for completing either the Basic Course or the Basic Rider Course 2.
You’ll need to bring this to the Georgia DDS to receive your motorcycle license.
Both your written knowledge test and riding skills exam will be completed as part of the course.
The Basic Rider’s Course consists of 5 hours of classroom training and 10 hours of riding instruction.
In order to complete the course, you’ll need to:
- Be on time to class.
- Successfully complete all course sessions.
- Score at least 80% on the written exam.
- Pass the skills test.
The in-state fee to enroll in the course is $250.
How Much Does a Motorcycle License Cost in Georgia?
The fees for a motorcycle license are as follows:
- Motorcycle Permit: $10.
- Motorcycle License: $32.
Transfer an Out-of-State Motorcycle License When Moving to Georgia
If you’ve recently moved to Georgia, you can transfer your out-of-state motorcycle license or endorsement. You’ll need to do so within 30 days. To do so:
- Visit your local DDS office.
- Surrender your out-of-state license.
- Complete the application and provide proof of your identity, residency, and legal presence.
- Pay the required application fees.
- Pass an eye exam.
- Pass the Georgia motorcycle written exam.
If your out-of-state motorcycle license/endorsement is valid you typically will not need to pass a road test or complete another motorcycle safety course.
Once you’ve received your motorcycle license, be sure to come back to MotorcycleZombies.com to learn how to title and register a motorcycle in Georgia.