⚠️ ATTENTION: Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements when taking care of tasks for your motorcycle. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Alabama’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Alabama residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.alea.gov/dps/driver-license/atvutv-registration
Alabama ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
Alabama does not require registration for ATVs and recreational off-highway vehicles, however, you can choose to register your ATV if you’d like to.
To do so, you’ll need to submit an ATV registration application to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA).
You’ll have the option to register your ATV or off-road vehicle for public or private use.
Public use registration means the ATV will be used on designated off-road areas, while private use means the vehicle will only be used on private property.
ATV registrations are valid for 3 years.
You’ll need to:
- Complete an ATV/UTV Registration form: http://www.alea.gov/sites/default/files/inline-files/NEW%20ATV%20APPLICATION%202%20page%20Ver%205.pdf
- Provide a Bill of Sale or a Purchaser’s Certificate that includes:
- The VIN.
- Description of the ATV.
- The Seller’s information.
- Pay the appropriate fee.
- Submit your application, payment, and documents to:
ALEA ATV/UTV Registration
PO BOX 304115
Montgomery, AL 36130
Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Alabama?
You’ll be able to submit your ATV registration application through the mail to the ALEA or through your ATV dealer.
Alabama OHV Permit Cost
Fees for an Alabama ATV registration are as follows:
- Public Use Registration: $45 for 3 years
- Private Use Registration: $15 for 3 years
- Issuance Fee: $2.50
- Duplicate Registration: $5
- Transfer Registration: $5
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Alabama
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Alabama off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
You cannot ride ATVs on any beaches or sand dunes.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Alabama and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.