ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Alaska’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Alaska residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/reg/snow.htm
Alaska ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
ATV registration is required for off-road vehicles that will be ridden on public land in Alaska.
All-purpose vehicles that will be used on public roads must be insured, titled and registered.
To register your off-road vehicle in Alaska, you’ll need to:
- Provide proof of ownership with a bill of sale, warranty card, MCO, notarized affidavit of ownership, or purchase order.
- Complete a Title and Registration Application: https://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/pdfs/V1.pdf
- Pay the OHV registration fee.
If you’ve purchased an ATV from a private seller, you’ll also need to provide an affidavit that states the details of the sale or acquisition.
ATV registration is issued for periods of 2, 4, or 6 years. ATV registrations expire on September 30th.
Once you register your ATV for the first time, you’ll receive a number decal.
The decal should be placed on the side of the ATV where it can clearly be seen when a rider and passengers are seated in normal riding positions.
Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Alaska?
You can register your ATV at your local Alaska DMV office or through the dealer at the time of sale.
Alaska OHV Permit Cost
The price for ATV and off-highway vehicle registration is as follows:
- 2-year registration: $10.
- 4-year registration: $20.
- 6-year registration: $30.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Alaska
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Alaska off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
When riding an ATV or APV on public roads (where permitted), you must meet the following requirements:
- Hold a valid driver’s license.
- Have the vehicle titled, registered, and insured.
- Only ride on roads where it is allowed with speed limits of no more than 45 mph.
- Have all the necessary street legal equipment.
- Wear helmets and use the seat belts.
Driving an APV or ATV on public roads is prohibited in the following areas:
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Alaska and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great ATV/UTV and dirt bike resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: