Colorado ATV Registration & OHV Permits

ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.

Please enter your zip to get started:

If you plan to enjoy Colorado’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow. 

This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Colorado residents and out-of-state visitors. 

For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://cpw.state.co.us/buyapply/Pages/RegistrationsOHV.aspx 

Colorado ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers

ATV registration is required to ride on public lands in Colorado. 

OHV registrations are valid from April 1st through March 31st each year.

As a Colorado resident, you’ll need to have a valid OHV registration card and 2 OHV decals. 

To apply for a new OHV registration, you’ll need the following:

Applications can be submitted by mail, in person to your local CPW location, or through an authorized registration and permit vendor. 

The mailing address for OHV registration is: 

CPW Registration Unit

13787 US Hwy 85 N

Littleton, CO 80125

Your new decals will typically arrive within 10 to 20 business days. 

You can renew your OHV registration up to 45 days before March 31. You can renew your OHV stickers:

You can use your registration receipt as proof of registration until your new decals arrive. 

Your decals should be placed in a clearly visible space on both sides of your ATV or UTV. 

Street legal vehicles that will be operated off-road will need to get a Colorado OHV permit (see non-resident information below). 

Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Colorado?

Your OHV registration and decals can be purchased through Colorado Parks and Wildlife or an authorized vendor. 

Colorado OHV Permits for Non-Residents & Street Legal Vehicles

Non-resident that want to ride their out of state ATV must purchase a Colorado OHV permit. 

You can purchase a green OHV permit card:

OHV permit stickers can be purchased at CPW locations of authorized vendors. 

Colorado OHV Permit Cost

Fees for your CO OHV registration are as follows:

  • Resident OHV registration and decals: $25.25.
  • Duplicate decals/registration documents: $5. 
  • Street-legal/Non-resident OHV permit: $25.25
  • OHV Permit sticker: $25.25. 

ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Colorado

Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Colorado off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary. 

Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding. 

Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol. 

Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Colorado and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties. 

Check out some of these other great ATV/UTV and dirt bike resources from MotorcycleZombies.com:

ATV & UTV Insurance

Dirt Bike Insurance

ATV vs. UTV

ATV Age Ranges

What to Wear ATV Riding

How to Ride an ATV

How to Ride a Dirt Bike

How Fast is a Dirt Bike?