⚠️ ATTENTION: Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements when taking care of tasks for your motorcycle. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Connecticut’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Connecticut residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://portal.ct.gov/DMV/Registration/ATV-Registration-Requirements
Connecticut ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
ATV registration is required in Connecticut.
All ATVs require registration in order to be operated on public lands in CT.
If the ATV will only be used on property owned or leased by the rider, registration is not required.
To register your ATV in Connecticut, you’ll need to:
- Visit your local DMV office.
- Complete an application for ATV Registration: https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DMV/20/29/H13Bpdf.pdf
- Provide proof of ID.
- Provide proof of ownership.
- Provide the Bill of Sale.
- Pay your registration fees and taxes.
You’ll need to place your ATV registration plate on the rear of the vehicle. You’ll also need to place your OHV stickers on either side of the front section of the ATV.
Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Connecticut?
You’ll need to register your ATV through the CT DMV.
Connecticut OHV Permits for Non-Residents
Out-of-state residents riding their ATV in Connecticut must also comply with the CT ATV registration requirements.
If you live in one of the following states and your ATV is registered there, you will be able to ride in Connecticut with no extra steps:
- New York.
Otherwise, you can apply for a CT ATV registration by visiting a CT DMV office with the following:
- Out-of-state driver’s license.
- Application for ATV registration.
Connecticut OHV Permit Cost
Connecticut ATV registration costs $75.
Other fees and taxes may vary.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Connecticut
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Connecticut off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
You cannot ride on public highways, unless coming to a complete stop and crossing at an approved location at an 90 degree angle to the road.
Riders under 18 years old require the following to register an ATV:
- Parental consent.
- Special insurance coverage.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Connecticut and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.