If you plan to enjoy Delaware’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Delaware residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://dmv.de.gov/VehicleServices/specialvehicles/index.shtml?dc=ve_reg_ohv
Delaware ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
Delaware requires you to register and title your ATV.
To register an ATV in Delaware, you’ll need to visit your local DMV office and meet the following requirements:
- Provide the details of the ATV (make, model year, VIN/serial number).
- Be at least 18 years old or be accompanied by a parent/guardian.
- Pay the registration fee.
Your DE OHV registration will be valid for 3 years.
Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Delaware?
You can register your all-terrain vehicles through the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles.
Delaware OHV Permits for Non-Residents
If you are visiting from out-of-state and do not have your ATV registered in your home state, you can purchase a 1-year ATV permit from the DE DMV.
Delaware OHV Permit Cost
The cost for your DE ATV permit is $6 for 3 years.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Delaware
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Delaware off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
All riders are required to wear a helmet.
ATVs must be equipped with brakes and a noise-reducing muffler.
Riders under 12 years old must be supervised by an adult.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Delaware and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.