ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Florida’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Florida residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit the FLHSMV or https://www.fdacs.gov/
Florida ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
Florida residents are required to title their off-road vehicles through the HSMV.
Off-road permits are required to ride on certain trails and state forests.
To get a title and title decal for your ATV in Florida, you’ll need to visit your local county tax collector with the following:
- Proof of ownership of the vehicle.
- Details of the ATV including year, make, VIN, and vehicle weight.
- Application for Certificate of Title (Form 82040).
- Payment for any taxes and title fees.
Once you submit your application, you’ll receive a certificate of title and a title decal.
The FL title decal will need to be placed on the left rear section of the ATV body.
ROVs (Recreational Off-Highway Vehicle), should have their decals placed on a flat portion of the vehicle’s body on the left rear portion of the vehicle.
If you plan to ride on state forests, you will first need to purchase an OHV permit from: https://floridastateforests.reserveamerica.com/posProducts.do?contractCode=FLFS&tti=Web%20Store
Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Florida?
You can title your ATV through the Florida HSMV office in your county.
OHV permits should be purchased through the agency managing the state or federal lands where you plan to ride.
Florida OHV Permit Cost
Title fees in Florida are $77.25 for new vehicles and $85.25 for used vehicles.
Taxes and local fees may vary.
OHV permits vary by location, but typically range from $15 for a day-pass to $75 to an annual pass.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Florida
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Florida off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Riders under 16 years old must be supervised by an adult.
Riders under 16 years old must complete an approved OHV safety course.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Florida and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great ATV/UTV and dirt bike resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: