- Insurance costs increased in 2024.
- Don't let your rates go up.
- Compare rates to save big!
If you plan to enjoy Indiana’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Indiana residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.in.gov/bmv/registration-plates/off-road-vehicles-and-snowmobiles/
Indiana ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
The state of Indiana requires you to title and register your ATV.
Titles are required for ATV and ORVs (off-road vehicles) purchased after 12/31/2009. You’ll need to apply for the title within 45 days of purchasing the vehicle to avoid any late fees.
To register your ATV, you’ll need to:
- Visit your local BMV office.
- Present proof of ownership (certificate of title).
- Pay the registration fees.
Once your application has been processed, you should receive your documents and decals within 21 days.
When you register your ATV you’ll receive a certificate of registration and 2 decals.
The decals should be attached to each side of the front portion of your ATV. You’ll need to carry your registration certificate while you ride.
OHV registration is valid for 3 years. Your registration expiration date corresponds to your last name.
Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Indiana?
You can purchase your OHV registration through the Indiana BMV.
Indiana OHV Permits for Non-Residents
Depending on the ATV registration laws in your home state, you may be required to register your ATV in Indiana if you are not a resident.
If your state’s ATV registration meets the following criteria, you will not need to register in Indiana:
- A certificate of registration that includes a registration number, your name and address, VIN, and any other information required by IN BMV.
- 2 registration decals that show the year and registration number attached to each side of the ATV.
If your state’s ATV registration meets those requirements, you are allowed to ride your out-of-state ATV within Indiana for up to 20 days per year.
Otherwise, you’ll need to register your ATV through the Indiana BMV.
Indiana OHV Permit Cost
The fee for Indiana ATV registration is $30 for 3 years.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Indiana
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Indiana off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Riders under 14 years old can only ride under supervision of an adult.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Indiana and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.