- Insurance costs increased in 2024.
- Don't let your rates go up.
- Compare rates to save big!
If you plan to enjoy Kentucky’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Kentucky residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://drive.ky.gov/motor-vehicle-licensing/Pages/All-Terrain-Vehicles.aspx
Kentucky ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
You will be required to title your ATV in Kentucky. KY does not issue registration for ATVs.
Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Kentucky?
You’ll need to title your ATV through the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.
To do so, you’ll need to visit your local motor vehicle office with the following:
- Proof of ID.
- A completed application for KY title (Form 96-182) or a signed over certificate of title.
- Proof of ownership.
- The 17-digit ATV VIN.
- Payment for the title fee.
Kentucky OHV Permit Cost
An ATV title costs $15.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Kentucky
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Kentucky off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Riders under 12 years old are required to wear a helmet and ride under parent supervision.
ATV engine size restrictions are as follows:
- Under 12 years old: up to 70cc.
- 12 to 16 years old: up to 90cc.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Kentucky and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.