ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Maine’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Maine residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.maine.gov/ifw/atv-snowmobile/atv/index.html
Maine ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
Registration is required to ride an ATV on public lands in Maine.
ATV registration is completed through the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and WildLIFE.
First time ATV registrations can be completed in person on by mail to:
ATTN: ATV Registration
Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
353 Water Street – 41 SHS
Augusta, ME 04333
To register, you’ll need to provide proof of sales tax paid, complete an ATV registration application, and pay the necessary registration fees.
You can find the application here: https://www.maine.gov/ifw/docs/atv-snow-boat%20reg%20applicaton.pdf
ATV registrations expire each year on June 30th.
You can renew your registration in person, by mail, online: https://moses.informe.org/online/atv_snow/index.htm
Your ATV registration decals should be displaced on the front and back of the ATV as high above the tires as possible.
Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Maine?
You can buy your ATV permit through the ME DIFW and local licensing agents.
Registration renewal and non-resident permits can be purchased online.
Maine OHV Permits for Non-Residents
If you are a non-resident who plans to ride an out-of-state ATV on Maine OHV trails, you’ll need to purchase a non-resident permit.
You can do so online: https://apps1.web.maine.gov/online/atv_snow/index.htm
Maine OHV Permit Cost
The fees for Maine ATV registrations are as follows:
- Maine Resident ATV registration: $70.
- Non-resident full season ATV registration: $115.
- Non-resident 7-day ATV permit: $100.
- Antique ATV registration: $45.
Local fees and service charges may also apply.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Maine
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Maine off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Age restrictions for riding an ATV in Maine are as follows:
- Riders must be at least 10 years old.
- Riders ages 10 through 16 must complete an ATV safety course and be supervised by an adult.
- Riders under 16 years old are prohibited from crossing a public right-of-way.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Maine and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great ATV/UTV and dirt bike resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: