ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Massachusetts’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Massachusetts residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.mass.gov/how-to/first-time-atv-and-snowmobile-registration
Massachusetts ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
You will need to hold a valid liability insurance policy and register your ATV in Massachusetts.
If you’re registering your ATV for the first time, you can submit your application, documents, and fees in person or by mail.
- The Bill of Sale.
- Proof of ownership.
- Proof of sales tax paid (Form ST-6).
- The VIN.
- A completed application for Registration and Title: https://www.mass.gov/files/2017-06/Boat%20registration%20Form%20pdf.pdf
- Payment for your title and registration fees.
Your snowmobile registration will be valid for 2 years.
About 1 month before the expiration date you’ll receive a renewal notice in the mail.
You’ll typically have the option of renewing your ATV registration:
- In person.
- By mail.
- Online: www.mass.gov/ole
If you sell your ATV, you’ll need to complete an OHV Registration Status Change form and Notify the MA Environmental Police within 15 days of the sale. You can download the form here: https://www.mass.gov/doc/motorboat-snowmobile-ohv-registration-status-change-form
Massachusetts OHV Permits for Non-Residents
If you are not a resident of Massachusetts, you’ll need to register your out-of-state ATV through the MVA if you want to ride on trails within the state.
These non-resident ATV permits are valid for 1 year.
Massachusetts OHV Permit Cost
Fees for MA ATV registration include:
- 2-year Resident ATV registration: $44.
- 1-year non-resident ATV registration: $33.
- Registration transfer: $16.50.
- Duplicate ATV decals: $5.50.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Massachusetts
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Massachusetts off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Riders under 18 years old must complete an off-road safety course.
If the rider is under 16 years old, their parents will need to attend one of the safety course sessions.
Riders under 14 years old must ride under adult supervision at all times.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Massachusetts and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great ATV/UTV and dirt bike resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: