ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Michigan’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Michigan residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.michigan.gov/dnr/
Michigan ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
A title is required for your ATV in Michigan through the SOS.
OHV permits and stickers are purchased through the Michigan DNR, and are required to ride your ATV on public lands and ORV routes.
When you purchase an ATV, you’ll need to apply for a title within 15 days.
If you plan to ride on public lands, you will also need an ORV license through the Department of Natural Resources.
In addition to the ORV license, you’ll also need an ORV trail permit in order to ride on ORV trails.
Michigan ORV permits and licenses are valid for 1 year beginning April 1 through March 31.
ORV stickers should be placed on a flat surface on the back of the ATV where they are clearly visible.
Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Michigan?
You’ll need to apply for a title through the MI Secretary of State.
ORV licenses and trail permits are issued by the DNR, and can be purchased at DNR offices and many ORV dealers.
ORV license and permits can be purchased:
- In person: https://www.mdnr-elicense.com/Home/InternetRetailerLocations
- Online: https://www.mdnr-elicense.com/
Michigan ORV Permits for Non-Residents
Non-residents visiting Michigan who plan to ride their out-of-state ATVs on public lands will also need to purchase an ORV permit from the MI DNR.
Michigan ORV Permit Cost
The fees for your ORV permits are as follows:
- ORV license: $26.25.
- ORV trail permit: $10.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Michigan
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Michigan off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Riders under 16 years old are required to complete a safety course and only ride under direct adult supervision.
Riders must be at least 10 years old to ride on public lands.
All riders are required to wear a helmet and eye protection.
ORVs must be equipped with:
- Spark arrestor and muffler.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Michigan and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great ATV/UTV and dirt bike resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: