⚠️ ATTENTION: Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements when taking care of tasks for your motorcycle. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Minnesota’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Minnesota residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/licenses/ohv/index.html
Minnesota ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
Registration is required for ATVs in Minnesota.
ATV registrations are processed through the Department of Natural Resources.
If you’ve purchased your ATV from a dealership, the dealer will typically handle the registration for you and issue your decal.
If you’re buying an ATV from a private seller, you should be prepared with the following:
- The year, make, and model of the ATV.
- The VIN.
- The engine size, rim-to-rim width, and dry weight of the ATV.
- The Bill of Sale.
- A completed registration form: https://files.dnr.state.mn.us/rlp/licenses/universal_form.pdf
You’ll need to register the ATV within 15 days of the sale.
MN ATV registrations are valid for 3 years, and expire on December 31.
You can renew:
- In person.
- Online: https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/licenses/online-sales.html
Minnesota OHV Permits for Non-Residents
If you are visiting Minnesota with an out-of-state ATV, you will not need a Minnesota ORV registration as long as the vehicle will not be operated in the state for more than 30 consecutive days.
You will need to purchase a non-resident trail pass if you are riding on trails that you or a family member do not own.
Non-resident trail passes can be purchased:
- In person at your local Game and Fish License Agents or Deputy Registrar offices.
- Over the phone: 888-665-4236
- Online: https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/licenses/ohv/index.html
Minnesota OHV Permit Cost
Fees for Minnesota ATV registration are as follows:
- 3-year registration: $60 + $8.50 issuance fee.
- 3-year registration renewal: $60 + $6 issurace fe.
- Registration transfer: $4 + $8.50 issuance fee.
- 1-year Non-resident trail pass: $30 + $1 issuance fee.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Minnesota
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Minnesota off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Check with local county and city officials to find out where you can ride your ATV.
In order to pass a public road right-of-way, the rider must hold a valid driver’s license.
Riders aged 16 and older are required to complete an ATV training course.
Riders aged 10 to 15 will need to complete both an online ATV training course and a hands-on ATV training.
Riders under 18 years are required to wear a helmet.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Minnesota and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.