ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Montana’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Montana residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://fwp.mt.gov/activities/off-highway-vehicles
Montana ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
You’ll need to register your ATV in Montana.
Title and registration can be obtained through your local county Motor Vehicle Office. You’ll need to be prepared with the following:
- Proof of ownership of the ATV.
- A completed registration and title application.
- Payment for your registration and title fees.
Once processed, you’ll be issued an off-road decal that should be placed in a clearly visible position on your vehicle.
ATV registration is permanent and costs $61.25 plus a $10 MT Highway Patrol fee.
Contact your local county office for details.
An OHV trail pass is also required if you want to ride on OHV trails and public land in the state. See below for details.
Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Montana?
Montana residents can apply for an OHV Trail Pass:
- In Person at your local FWP office or 3rd party vendor: https://myfwp.mt.gov/getRepositoryFile?objectID=71420
- Online: https://ols.fwp.mt.gov/
Resident ATV trail passes are valid for up to 2 years, and expire on December 31.
The cost is $20.
Montana OHV Permits for Non-Residents
Non-residents must also purchase an OHV trail pass to ride their out-of-state ATV in Montana.
These cost $35 and are valid for up to 1 calendar year.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Montana
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Montana off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Riders are required to hold a valid driver’s license.
The minimum age to ride is 12 years old. Riders 12-16 must have completed an ATV safety course and be under the supervision of a licensed adult.
Riding on public roadways is only permitted at designated crossing areas.
Helmets are required for all riders under 18 years old.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Montana and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great ATV/UTV and dirt bike resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: