- Insurance costs increased in 2024.
- Don't let your rates go up.
- Compare rates to save big!
If you plan to enjoy Nevada’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Nevada residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://ohv.nv.gov/register
Nevada ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
ATV title and registration is required in Nevada.
You’ll need to register an ATV within 30 days of purchasing it. License OHV dealers in Nevada can typically submit your registration and title paperwork on your behalf.
To title and register your ATV in Nevada, you’ll need to provide:
- Completed the application form (see below).
- Proof of sales tax paid or that sales tax is not due.
- Proof of ownership.
- Proof of VIN and a completed VIN inspection (completed by an OHV dealer or law enforcement).
- Payment for your title, registration fees, and taxes.
NV ATV registrations are valid for 1 year.
Your NV OHV sticker should be placed on the left side or rear portion of the ATV in a clearly visible position.
The ATV registration application form you need depends on when and how the vehicle was purchased:
- All ATVs purchased before July 1, 2012: http://www.dmvnv.com/pdfforms/ohv001a_packet.pdf
- ATVs purchased at Nevada Dealers: http://www.dmvnv.com/pdfforms/ohv001b_packet.pdf
- ATVs purchased from out-of-state Dealers: http://www.dmvnv.com/pdfforms/ohv001d_packet.pdf
- ATVs purchased from Private Party: http://www.dmvnv.com/pdfforms/ohv001c_packet.pdf
- ATVs with no VIN: http://www.dmvnv.com/pdfforms/ohv001e_packet.pdf
Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Nevada?
First time applications can be mailed to the Nevada DMV.
ATV registration renewals can be completed online: https://dmvapp.nv.gov/dmv/vr/ohv/registrationrenewal/renewal_input.aspx
Nevada OHV Permits for Non-Residents
If you are not a resident of Nevada and plan to ride your out-of-state ATV within the state, you are able to do so without applying for a NV OHV registration if:
- The ATV is properly registered in your home state.
- You will not have the ATV in Nevada for more than 15 days.
Nevada OHV Permit Cost
Fees for your NV registration and title include:
- Title fee: $28.25.
- 1-year registration: $20.
- Late fee: $10.
- VIN assignment, if applicable: $2.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Nevada
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Nevada off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
ATVs must be equipped with:
- Tail light.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Nevada and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.