If you plan to enjoy New Hampshire’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for New Hampshire residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.wildlife.state.nh.us/ohrv/registration.html
New Hampshire ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
An ATV permit is required in New Hampshire to ride on public land.
OHRV permits are valid from May 1 through April 30 each year, and are available through NH Fish and Game.
To apply, you’ll need to:
- Visit your nearest OHRV agent or NH Fish and Game headquarters.
- Be at least 18 years old with a photo ID.
- Complete an application.
- Provide the ATV year, make, model, engine size, colors, and VIN.
- Pay the registration fee.
Applications can also be submitted by mail: https://www.wildlife.state.nh.us/ohrv/registration.html
You’ll receive a registration certificate and 2 registration decals.
The decals should be placed on the front and rear fenders in clearly visible positions.
New Hampshire OHV Permits for Non-Residents
Non-residents are required to follow the NH ATV registration laws above.
10-day temporary permits are also available from select OHRV permit vendors.
New Hampshire OHV Permit Cost
The fees for NH ATV registration include:
- ATV registration (resident club member): $58.
- ATV registration (resident non-member): $88.
- ATV registration (non-resident club member): $77.
- ATV registration (non-resident non-member): $107.
- Non-resident 10-day permit: $41.
- Registration transfer: $24.50.
- Replacement decals: $24.50.
Registration discounts are available to NH Off-Highway Vehicle Association members.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in New Hampshire
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the New Hampshire off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Riders between 12 and 16 years old are required to pass a safety course and ride under the supervision of a licensed adult.
Riders under 18 years old are required to wear a helmet.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of New Hampshire and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.