- Insurance costs increased in 2024.
- Don't let your rates go up.
- Compare rates to save big!
If you plan to enjoy New Jersey’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for New Jersey residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.state.nj.us/
New Jersey ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
Registration and proof of insurance is required for ATVs in New Jersey.
To register your ATV, you’ll need to visit your local MVC with the following:
- A completed ATV registration application (Form BA-49): https://www.state.nj.us/mvc/pdf/vehicles/BA-49.pdf
- Proof of ownership of the ATV.
- Payment for registration fees and taxes.
ATV registrations expire on September 30 each year.
New Jersey OHV Permits for Non-Residents
Non-residents must also comply with the ATV registration requirements above.
New Jersey OHV Permit Cost
The NJ ATV registration fees are as follows:
- Resident ATV registration: $34.
- Non-resident ATV registration: $38.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in New Jersey
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the New Jersey off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
The minimum age to ride an ATV in New Jersey is 14 years old.
Riders under 18 years old must pass an approved ATV safety course.
Riders under 16 years old cannot rider ATVs with engines larger than 90cc on public lands.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of New Jersey and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.