⚠️ ATTENTION: Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements when taking care of tasks for your motorcycle. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
If you plan to enjoy New Mexico’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for New Mexico residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.wildlife.state.nm.us/ohv/registration-permits/
New Mexico ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
ATV registration and liability insurance is required in New Mexico.
If you are a resident of New Mexico, you’ll need to title and register your ATV through the MVD. To do so, you’ll need the following:
- ATV registration and title application.
- Proof of ownership.
- Proof of ID and residency.
- Payment for your registration fees and taxes.
New Mexico ATV registrations are valid for 2 years.
Registration decals must be placed on the left rear portion of the ATV’s frame or body.
New Mexico OHV Permits for Non-Residents
If you are not a resident of New Mexico, you will need to purchase a non-resident permit if your home state does not meet the requirements of the NM OHV program.
Visitors from the following states will typically need to purchase a non-resident OHV permit before riding their out-of-state ATV on public lands in Nevada:
- North Carolina
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
You can purchase your permit online here: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
You’ll need to know:
- The type of permit you need (2-year or 90-day).
- The ATV VIN, make, color, and type.
New Mexico OHV Permit Cost
Fees for ATVs in New Mexico include:
- Initial registration: $53.
- Renewals: $50.
- Non-resident 2-year permit: $48.
- Non-resident 90-day permit: $18.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in New Mexico
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the New Mexico off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Riders under 18 years old are required to wear eye protection and an approved helmet.
Riders 10 to 18 must be supervised by a qualified adult unless they already have a valid driver’s license.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of New Mexico and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.