If you plan to enjoy North Dakota’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for North Dakota residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.dot.nd.gov/ or https://www.parkrec.nd.gov/business/recreation-programs/highway-vehicles-ohv/ohv-permits-registration
North Dakota ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
You’ll need to register and insure your ATV to legally ride in North Dakota.
To register, you’ll need to visit your local ND DOT office with the following:
- A completed registration application.
- Your name and address.
- The year, make, and VIN of the ATV.
- Payment for your registration fee.
Liability insurance is required to ride on public lands.
ATV registrations in North Dakota are valid for 2 years and expire on even-numbered years.
Your registration decals should be placed on the side of the ATV where it is clearly visible.
Transfers of ATV ownership must be completed within 15 days of the sale.
North Dakota OHV Permits for Non-Residents
Non-resident who plan to ride their out-of-state ATV on ND public lands are required to purchase a non-resident trail permit.
You can purchase one online here: https://www.parkrec.nd.gov/business/recreation-programs/highway-vehicles-ohv/ohv-permits-registration
North Dakota OHV Permit Cost
Fees for ATV registration in North Dakota are as follows:
- 2-year ATV registration (ND residents): $20.
- Non-resident registration: $10 per year.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in North Dakota
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the North Dakota off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
ATVs require the following equipment:
- Tail light.
- Working brakes.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of North Dakota and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.