ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Ohio’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Ohio residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/vr-firstissuance.aspx
Ohio ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
ATV title and registration is required in Ohio.
If you purchase an ATV at an Ohio dealership, they will typically submit your title and registration paperwork for you.
When buying an ATV from a private seller, you should be sure to get the signed-over title from the previous owner as part of the transaction.
To register, you’ll need to visit your local deputy registrar’s office with the follow items:
- Proof of ownership for the ATV (title, MCO, etc.).
- Proof of identification.
- A completed title and registration application.
- Payment for your registration fees.
ATV registrations are valid for 3 years in Ohio, and will expire on December 31 of the 3rd year. You can renew your registration up to 90 days before it expires.
Upon registration, you’ll receive a metal license plate and tags that you’ll need to secure to the back of your ATV in a clearly visible location.
Ohio OHV Permits for Non-Residents
If you are not a resident of Ohio and plan to ride your out-of-state ATV on public lands, you’ll need to be sure to comply with the OH ATV registration requirements.
If your ATV is properly registered in your home state, you will typically be able to operate in Ohio.
If not, you’ll need to purchase a temporary ATV permit, which is valid for up to 1 year.
Ohio OHV Permit Cost
The price for Ohio ATV registration for residents is $34.75.
Temporary ATV registration costs $14.75.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Ohio
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Ohio off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
ATV riders must hold a valid driver’s license.
Riders under 16 years old must be accompanied by a licensed adult to ride on public land.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Ohio and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great ATV/UTV and dirt bike resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: