ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Oregon’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Oregon residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.oregon.gov/oprd/atv/pages/atv-overview.aspx
Oregon ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
Off-road permits are required for all ATVs in Oregon. You can also apply for a title through the Oregon DMV.
ATV stickers are available for purchase through the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department.
These permits are valid for 2 years from the month of purchase.
Your sticker will expire on the last day of the month it was purchased.
Decals should be placed on the right side of the vehicle in a clearly visible location.
Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Oregon?
Oregon ATV permits can be purchased through the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department (OPRD).
You can buy an operating permit:
- Online: https://store.oregonstateparks.org/index.cfm?do=v.dsp_item&itemId=100
- In person at an ATV operating permit agent: https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=1hXQokDDGjXzSzdXf-GC7wRolu6s
Oregon OHV Permits for Non-Residents
If you are not a resident of Oregon and plan to ride your out-of-state ATV on public lands within the state, you’ll need to comply with the ATV registration requirements as well.
Whether or not you need to purchase an Oregon ATV permit depends on your home state.
The following states have ATV permit reciprocity with Oregon, and out-of-state riders do not need to purchase an OR ATV sticker:
- New Mexico
- New York
- Rhode Island
All other states either have no reciprocity or do not have an ATV permit program, and residents of these states will need to purchase an Oregon ATV sticker for their out-of-state quad. These states include:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Oregon OHV Permit Cost
ATV operating permits in Oregon cost $10 for 2 years.
Riding an ATV without a valid permit can result in a fine of at least $160.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Oregon
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Oregon off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
All riders riding their ATV on public lands are required to complete an ATV safety course and carry their certificate of completion while you ride.
Riders under 16 years old must complete a hands-on course in addition to the online training.
Riders under 18 years old must have an ATV operator permit.
Riders under 16 must be accompanied by a qualified adult.
Children under 7 years old cannot ride an ATV.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Oregon and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great ATV/UTV and dirt bike resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: