If you plan to enjoy Pennsylvania’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Pennsylvania residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.dcnr.pa.gov/Recreation/WhatToDo/ATVRiding/RegistrationTitlingAndInsurance/Pages/default.aspx
Pennsylvania ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
Pennsylvania requires ATVs to be titled and registered.
ATVs are registered through the Department of Conservation & Natural Resources (DCNR).
Additionally, riders must carry liability insurance when they ride on property they do not own or lease.
When you buy an ATV from a PA dealership, the dealer will give you a license plate and a temporary registration sticker. They will also submit your title and registration paperwork for you.
When you buy an ATV from a private seller, you’ll need to submit the follow items yourself:
- Application for ATV Registration: https://www.snowatvreg.dcnr.pa.gov/Publications/1300%20App%20DCNR-43_12-21.pdf
- Proof of ownership.
- Proof of the ATV VIN.
- Payment for your fees and proof that you’ve paid the necessary sales tax.
Applications, documents, and fees can be mailed to:
Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
Snowmobile/ATV Registration Section
P.O. Box 8553, Harrisburg, PA 17105-8553
There are two types of ATV registrations available in Pennsylvania:
- General ATV registration, which allows you to operate your ATV on public lands and land you do not own.
- Limited ATV registration, which only allows you to ride your ATV on your own land.
General registrations are valid for 2 years.
You can replace, update, and renew your ATV registration online here: https://www.snowatvowner.pa.gov/Account/Login/?ReturnUrl=%2F
Upon registration, you’ll be issued an ATV license plate and registration stickers that need to be placed towards the upper back half of your ATV. Stickers are placed in the bottom corner of your license plate.
Pennsylvania OHV Permits for Non-Residents
PA ATV registration is not required if you are a visiting non-resident with a valid ATV registration from your home state that also reciprocates Pennsylvania ATV registration.
If your home state does not honor PA ATV registrations, you’ll need to purchase Pennsylvania registration for your out-of-state ATV.
Pennsylvania OHV Permit Cost
Fees for ATV registration and title include:
- Title fee: $22.50.
- General registration: $20 for 2 years.
- Limited registration: No fee.
- Replacement registration: $5.
- Transfers: $5.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Pennsylvania
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Pennsylvania off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
The minimum age to ride on public lands is 8 years old. Riders 8 to 15 are required to be under supervision of a parent or complete an ATV safety course.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Pennsylvania and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.