⚠️ ATTENTION: Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements when taking care of tasks for your motorcycle. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Rhode Island’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Rhode Island residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: http://dem.ri.gov/
Rhode Island ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
Registration and liability insurance is required for ATVs in Rhode Island.
Registration is handled through the Department of Environmental Management (RI DEM).
You’ll need the follow items and information to register your ATV:
- A completed registration application.
- Proof of ownership (Bill of Sale).
- Details for the ATV including the year, make, model, color, engine size, and VIN.
- Proof of paid sales tax.
- Proof of your identification.
- Payment for your registration fees.
RI ATV registrations are valid for 1 year.
ATV registration costs $25.
When you buy an ATV, you’ll need to transfer it into your name within 15 days.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Rhode Island
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Rhode Island off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Riders under 16 years old and first time ATV owners must complete an approved safety course.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Rhode Island and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.