ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you plan to enjoy South Carolina’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for South Carolina residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.scdmvonline.com/Vehicle-Owners/Types-Of-Vehicles/All-Terrain-Vehicles
South Carolina ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
You can title your ATV in South Carolina.
To do so, you’ll need to submit the following to the SC DMV:
- Application for Title (SCDMV Form 400): https://www.scdmvonline.com/-/media/Forms/400.ashx
- Proof of ownership with an MCO or sign-over title.
- Payment for sales tax and $15 title fee.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in South Carolina
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the South Carolina off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
All ATVs require the following equipment:
- Spark arrester.
Riders under 16 years old are required to complete a safety course and wear a helmet and eye protection.
Riders under 16 must be supervised by an adult.
The minimum age to ride an ATV in South Carolina is 6 years old.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of South Carolina and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great ATV/UTV and dirt bike resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: