⚠️ ATTENTION: Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements when taking care of tasks for your motorcycle. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Texas’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Texas residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://tpwd.texas.gov/state-parks/texas-off-highway-program
Texas ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
In Texas, a title is required for your ATV. You’ll also need a valid OHV decal to ride on public lands.
You may also be eligible to apply for an Off-Highway license plate, which can be used to ride your ATV in approved areas other than OHV riding trails.
Title and registration for your ATV can be applied for through your local county tax assessor’s office. You’ll need to present proof of ownership, pay the registration and title fee, and pay your use taxes on the vehicle.
OHV decals are issued by Texas Parks and Wildlife.
OHV decals are available:
- Online: https://texasstateparks.reserveamerica.com/posProductDetails.do?id=72302&contractCode=TX&_ga=2.127360078.255661933.1657645525-416616166.1657645525
- Over the phone: (512) 389-8917
- At authorized dealers throughout the state: https://tpwd.texas.gov/state-parks/texas-off-highway-program/where-to-buy-a-texas-ohv-decal
OHV decals cost $16.
Decals are valid from September 1 through the following August 31.
Both residents and non-residents of Texas are required to purchase an OHV decal to ride on public land.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Texas
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Texas off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
An ATV safety course is required to ride on public lands and beaches.
Riders under 14 years old must be accompanied and supervised by a qualified and authorized adult.
Off-highway vehicles must be equipped with:
- Spark arrester.
- Tail light.
- OHV decal.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Texas and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.