⚠️ ATTENTION: Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements when taking care of tasks for your motorcycle. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Utah’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Utah residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://recreation.utah.gov/off-highway-vehicles/
New Requirement: Utah Off-Highway Education Course
As of 2023, Utah now requires all off-road vehicle riders 18 and older to complete an education course.
Riders under 18 years old are still required to take the Youth OHV Safety course.
The course is aimed to inform riders of OHV laws, protect off-road riding areas and communities, and increase safety.
The course takes about half an hour to complete. It features 26 quiz questions and educational videos. The course is free, available online, and required to be completed once.
You can start the course here: https://recreation.utah.gov/off-highway-vehicles/ohv-education-course/
Utah ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
Title and registration is required for all ATVs in Utah.
If you are a Utah resident, you’ll need to register and title your ATV through the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). To do so, you’ll need to submit the following:
- Proof of ownership.
- Utah Title Application (Form TC-656): http://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-656.pdf
- Certificate of Inspection (Form TC-661): http://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-661.pdf
- Payment for your title and registration fees.
Your registration decal should be placed on the rear of your ATV in a clearly visible location.
Your registration is valid for 1 year, and it will expire on the last day of the month that it was purchased.
Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Utah?
Residents must register their OHV through the Utah DMV.
Non-residents can purchase an OHV permit online here: https://recreation.utah.gov/off-highway-vehicles/
Your permit should arrive within about 2 weeks.
Utah OHV Permits for Non-Residents
Non-residents who wish to ride an out-of-state ATV in Utah are required to purchase an OHV permit.
You’ll need to provide:
- Proof of your out-of-state residency.
- Proof of ownership.
If you order your OHV permit online, it should arrive within 5 to 10 business days.
Utah OHV Permit Cost
Utah ATV registration fees are as follows:
- Resident ATV registration: $35.
- Non-resident OHV permit: $30. (Online fee: $5).
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Utah
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Utah off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
The minimum age to ride is 8 years old.
Riders under 18 years old are required to wear a DOT-approved helmet.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Utah and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.