ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Vermont’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Vermont residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://dmv.vermont.gov/registrations/new/off-road-vehicles/registering-your-atv
Vermont ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
You’ll need to register your ATV in order to ride on Vermont trails.
Titles are issued to ATVs 15 years old or newer.
To register, you’ll need to:
- Complete a Vermont Registration, Tax, and Title Application (VD-119): https://dmv.vermont.gov/sites/dmv/files/documents/VD-119-Vehicle_Registration_Tax_Title.pdf
- Provide proof of ownership.
- Pay the registration fees and taxes.
You must also hold a current liability insurance policy when riding on VASA trails.
Vermont ATV registration is valid for 1 to 2 years.
In addition to your registration through the DMV, you’ll also need to purchase a Trail Access Decal (TAD) in order to use the OHV trails throughout the state.
These decals can be purchased through Vermont ATV Sportsman’s Association: https://vtvasa.org/join-vasa.html
Decals must be placed on the front and rear of your ATV in clearly visible positions.
Vermont OHV Permits for Non-Residents
Non-residents can ride their out-of-state ATV in Vermont with valid out-of-state registration or VT registration.
You’ll also need to purchase a Trail Access Decal to ride on OHV trails throughout the state.
Vermont OHV Permit Cost
Fees for Vermont ATV registration are as follows:
- ATV Title: $22.
- 1-year ATV registration: $45.
- 2-year ATV registration: $90.
TAD decals fees are as follows:
- Vermont Registration: $60.
- Out-of-state Registration: $45.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Vermont
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Vermont off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
The minimum age to ride an ATV on public land in Vermont is 12 years old under the supervision of an adult.
Riders ages 12-16 must be supervised while riding on public land.
Riders under 18 years old must have completed an ATV safety course.
Helmets are required to ride on public lands.
ATVs must be equipped with:
- Tail lights.
- Spark arrestor.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Vermont and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great ATV/UTV and dirt bike resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: