Home » ATV Laws by State » Washington ATV Registration & OHV Permits

Liked it? Share it!

Washington ATV Registration & OHV Permits

If you plan to enjoy Washington’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow. 

This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Washington residents and out-of-state visitors. 

For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://www.dol.wa.gov/vehicleregistration/watv.html 

Less than 10% of people actually do this. The ones that do save big. What are you waiting for?


Taking care of a task for your license or motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any motorcycle insurance requirements.

Please enter your ZIP to get your insurance quote.

Washington ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers

Within 15 days of buying an ATV, you’ll need to get it titled and registered. You should also be prepared to present proof of liability insurance. 

To register your ATV in Washington, you’ll need to visit your local DOL office with the following:

  • Proof of ownership. 
  • Completed application. 
  • Payment for your title and registration fees. 

Once your registration is processed, you’ll receive a title, registration certificate, and an ATV license plate that must be placed on the rear of your ATV. 

Washington OHV Permits for Non-Residents

If you are not a resident of Washington, you can ride your out-of-state ATV in the state with one of the following:

  • Valid ATV registration in a state that has reciprocity with Washington’s ATV registration. 
  • Washington ATV registration. 
  • Temporary ORV Use Permit. 

An ORV Use permit costs $15.75 and allows you to operate your out-of-state ATV for up to 60 days. 

ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Washington

Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Washington off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary. 

The maximum speed for ATVs in most places is 35 mph. 

Riders under 16 years old must be supervised by a licensed adult. 

Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding. 

Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol. 

Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Washington and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties. 

Check out some of these other great ATV/UTV and dirt bike resources from MotorcycleZombies.com:

ATV & UTV Insurance

Dirt Bike Insurance


ATV Age Ranges

What to Wear ATV Riding

How to Ride an ATV

How to Ride a Dirt Bike

How Fast is a Dirt Bike?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *