ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you plan to enjoy Wisconsin’s off-road riding areas and trails, you’ll want to know the OHV permit requirements and ATV/UTV laws you’ll need to follow.
This page will provide you with the details on OHV stickers and ATV registration for Wisconsin residents and out-of-state visitors.
For more information and other details regarding ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles and recreation areas, please visit: https://dnr.wisconsin.gov/permits/registrations/atv
Wisconsin ATV Registration Requirements & ORV Stickers
All ATVs require registration in Wisconsin.
ATV registrations are processed through the Department of Natural Resources (DNR).
Registrations must be renewed annually, and are valid through April 1 or the date of issuance through March 31 of the second year.
You’ll receive a registration plate and 2 OHV decals.
The license plate should be attached to the back of your ATV and the decals should be placed on each side of the ATV in front of the rider.
Where to Buy an OHV Permit in Wisconsin?
You can purchase and renew your Wisconsin ATV registration:
- Online: https://gowild.wi.gov/
- At DNR Service Centers.
- By mail.
- Through Wisconsin OHV dealerships.
Wisconsin OHV Permits for Non-Residents
Residents of other states that want to ride their ATV on Wisconsin public lands must have one of the following:
- Wisconsin ATV registration.
- Nonresident Trail Pass.
- 5-day Trail Use permit.
Wisconsin OHV Permit Cost
Fees for WI ATV registration and decals are as follows:
- Wisconsin 2-year ATV registration: $30.
- Private use registration: $15.
- Non-resident annual trail pass: $35.
- 5-day Nonresident use pass: $20.
ATV & Off-Road Vehicle Laws in Wisconsin
Be sure to check the rules, regulations and fees for the Wisconsin off-road trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Riders under 12 years old are required to wear an approved helmet while riding an ATV. Riders under 12 years old can only operate ATVs with an engine size of less than 90cc.
Riders ages 12 to 18 years old are required to complete an ATV safety course.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, ATV/UTV and dirt bike riders and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never operate an off-road vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the off-road vehicle laws of Wisconsin and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great ATV/UTV and dirt bike resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: