This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Alabama.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Alabama
Motorcycle helmets are required for all riders.
Additional eye protection like a face shield or goggles is not specifically required, but is a smart piece of equipment to use as well.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Alabama Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is not specifically required, and there are no state-wide noise limits for motorcycles.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Alabama are required at the sale or transfer of a bike.
Some of the equipment requirements for Alabama motorcycles include:
- Rearview mirror.
- Maximum handlebar height of no more than 15” above the seat.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Alabama
There are no passenger restrictions.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Alabama
Using daytime headlights is not required for motorcycles in Alabama.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Alabama Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is illegal in Alabama.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Alabama issues titles to all motorcycles, except bikes that are older than model year 1980.
VIN verifications are required when registering out-of-state motorcycles.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Alabama.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Alabama
Motorcycle insurance is required in Alabama, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $25,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Alabama.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is not required to get a motorcycle license in Alabama.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the written knowledge test.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Alabama?
Before you get an Alabama motorcycle license, you will need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Alabama
There are no motorcycle learner’s permit requirements in Alabama.
Alabama Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Alabama motorcycle licensing process is 16 years old without training or 14 years old if you complete a motorcycle safety course.