⚠️ ATTENTION: Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements when taking care of tasks for your motorcycle. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Connecticut.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Connecticut
Motorcycle helmets are required for riders under 18 years old.
Additionally, eye protection like a face shield or goggles is also required unless the motorcycle is equipped with a windshield.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Connecticut Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is required.
Noise limits are based on the nature of the test site where the noise test is being conducted.
- At soft test sites (grass, dirt, etc.), the limits are:
- 78 decibels under 35 mph.
- 82 decibels over 35 mph.
- At hard test sites (concrete, pavement), the limits are:
- 80 decibels under 35 mph.
- 84 decibels over 35 mph.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Connecticut are performed at random.
Some of the equipment requirements for Connecticut motorcycles include:
- Rearview mirrors.
- Fenders on both wheels.
- Handlebar grips no higher than the rider’s shoulders.
- Turn signals.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Connecticut
There are no passenger restrictions for motorcycles in Connecticut.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Connecticut
Using daytime headlights is required for motorcycles in Connecticut.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Connecticut Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is pending legislation in Connecticut.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Connecticut issues titles to all motorcycles, except bikes that are older than 20 model years.
VIN verifications are required to register motorcycles from out of state.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Connecticut.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Connecticut
Motorcycle insurance is required in Connecticut, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $25,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Connecticut.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is required to get a motorcycle license in Connecticut.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the skills test.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Connecticut?
Before you get a Connecticut motorcycle license, you will need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Connecticut
A motorcycle instruction permit is not required.
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written exam.
In Connecticut, motorcycle permit restrictions include:
- No passengers.
- No freeway riding.
- Daytime riding only.
- Helmet required.
- Eye protection required.
The permit is valid for up to 60 days, and can be renewed once.
Connecticut Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Connecticut motorcycle licensing process is 16 years old.