- Insurance costs increased in 2024.
- Don't let your rates go up.
- Compare rates to save big!
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Florida.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Florida
Motorcycle helmets are required for riders under 21 years old, and riders 21 years old and up without a proper insurance policy.
Additionally, eye protection like a face shield or goggles is required unless the bike is equipped with a windshield.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Florida Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is required. Noise limits for motorcycle in Florida include:
- No more than 82 decibels when traveling under 35 mph.
- No more than 86 at 35 mph and up.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Florida are not required.
Some of the equipment requirements for Florida motorcycles include:
- Rearview mirror.
- Handlebar grips no higher than rider’s shoulders.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Florida
There are no motorcycle passenger restrictions in Florida.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Florida
Using daytime headlights is required for motorcycles in Florida.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Florida Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is illegal in Florida.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Florida issues titles to all motorcycles.
VIN verifications are required for out-of-state motorcycles being registered in Florida.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Florida.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Florida
Motorcycle insurance is optional in Florida.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Florida.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is required to get a motorcycle license in Florida.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the motorcycle skills test and written test.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Florida?
Before you get a Florida motorcycle license, you will not need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Florida
A motorcycle instruction permit is not required in Florida.
Florida Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Florida motorcycle licensing process is 15 years old.