This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Georgia.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Georgia
Motorcycle helmets are required for all riders.
Additionally, eye protection like a face shield or goggles is also required unless the motorcycle has a windshield.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Georgia Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is not specifically required and there are no state-wide noise limits for motorcycles.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Georgia are not required.
Some of the equipment requirements for Georgia motorcycles include:
- Rearview mirror.
- Handlebars no more than 25” above the seat.
- Turn signals.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Georgia
There are no passenger restrictions for motorcycles.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Georgia
Using daytime headlights is required for motorcycles in Georgia.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Georgia Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is illegal in Georgia.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Georgia issues titles to all motorcycles, except bikes that are model year 1985 and older
VIN verifications are required to register a motorcycle with no title.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Georgia.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Georgia
Motorcycle insurance is required in Georgia, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $25,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Georgia.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is not required to get a motorcycle license in Georgia.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the motorcycle written test and skills test.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Georgia?
Before you get a Georgia motorcycle license, you will not need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Georgia
A motorcycle instruction permit is not required.
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written test.
In Georgia, motorcycle permit restrictions include:
- No passengers.
- Road restrictions.
- Daytime riding only.
The permit is valid for up to 6 months, and can be renewed as needed.
Georgia Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Georgia motorcycle licensing process is 17 years old.