ATTENTION: Are you complying with your state's insurance laws? Make sure your coverage satisfies your state's requirements. Click below to compare coverage.
Please enter your zip to get started:
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Idaho.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Idaho
Motorcycle helmets are required for riders under 18 years old.
Additional eye protection like a face shield or goggles is not specifically required, but is a good thing to wear.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Idaho Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is required, but there is no state-wide noise limit placed on motorcycles.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Idaho are not required.
Some of the equipment requirements for Idaho motorcycles include:
- Rearview mirror.
- Fenders on both wheels.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Idaho
There are no passenger restrictions for motorcycles in Idaho.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Idaho
Using daytime headlights is not required for motorcycles in Idaho.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Idaho Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is illegal in Idaho.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Idaho issues titles to all motorcycles.
VIN verifications are required when registering out of state motorcycles.
If you buy a motorcycle without a title or are moving from a state that doesn’t issue titles, the registration documents and the Bill of Sale should serve as proof of ownership.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Idaho.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Idaho
Motorcycle insurance is required in Idaho, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $15,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Idaho.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is required for riders under 21 years old to get a motorcycle license in Idaho.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the motorcycle skills test.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Idaho?
Before you get an Idaho motorcycle license, you will need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Idaho
A motorcycle instruction permit is not required for new riders.
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written test.
In Idaho, motorcycle permit restrictions include:
- No passengers.
- No riding on the freeway.
- Daytime riding only.
The permit is valid for up to 180 days, and can be renewed 1 time.
Learn how to get a motorcycle license in Idaho.
Idaho Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Idaho motorcycle licensing process is 21 years old without training or 15 years old if you complete a motorcycle safety course.