- Insurance costs increased in 2024.
- Don't let your rates go up.
- Compare rates to save big!
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Iowa.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Iowa
Motorcycle helmets are not required.
Additional eye protection like a face shield or goggles is also not required.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Iowa Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is not specifically required and there are no state-wide limits on motorcycle noise levels.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Iowa are not required.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Iowa
There are no specific passenger laws for motorcycles in Iowa.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Iowa
Using daytime headlights is required for motorcycles in Iowa.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Iowa Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is illegal in Iowa.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Iowa issues titles to all motorcycles.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Iowa.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Iowa
Motorcycle insurance is required in Iowa, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $20,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $40,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $15,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Iowa.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is required for riders under 18 years old to get a motorcycle license in Iowa.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the motorcycle skills test.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Iowa?
Before you get an Iowa motorcycle license, you will not need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Iowa
A motorcycle instruction permit is not required.
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written test.
In Iowa, motorcycle permit restrictions include supervised riding requirements.
The permit is valid for up to 4 years, and can be renewed once.
Iowa Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Iowa motorcycle licensing process is 18 years old without training or 16 years old if you complete a motorcycle safety course.