⚠️ ATTENTION: Need to register or title your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please enter your ZIP to get started:
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Kansas.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Kansas
Motorcycle helmets are required for riders under 18 years old.
Additionally, eye protection like a face shield or goggles is also required unless the motorcycle is equipped with a proper windshield.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Kansas Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is required. There are no statewide motorcycle noise limits in place.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Kansas are performed randomly.
Some of the equipment requirements for Kansas motorcycles include:
- Rearview mirror on the left side.
- Turn signals.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Kansas
There are no passenger restrictions for motorcycles in Kansas.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Kansas
Using daytime headlights is required for motorcycles in Kansas.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Kansas Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is illegal in Kansas.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Kansas issues titles to all motorcycles.
VIN verifications are performed for out-of-state motorcycle being registered in Kansas for the first time.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Kansas.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Kansas
Motorcycle insurance is required in Kansas, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $10,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Kansas.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is not required to get a motorcycle license in Kansas.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the skills test and knowledge test.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Kansas?
Before you get a Kansas motorcycle license, you will not need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Kansas
A motorcycle instruction permit is required for riders under 17 years old.
If required, you’ll need to hold the learner’s permit and practice riding for at least 1 year before getting an unrestricted motorcycle license.
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written test.
In Kansas, motorcycle permit restrictions involve supervised riding requirements.
The permit is valid for up to 1 year, and can be renewed as necessary.
Kansas Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Kansas motorcycle licensing process is 16 years old.