ATTENTION: Are you complying with your state's insurance laws? Make sure your coverage satisfies your state's requirements. Click below to compare coverage.
Please enter your zip to get started:
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Maine.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Maine
Motorcycle helmets are required for riders under 18 years old.
Additional eye protection like a face shield or goggles is not required, but is a good idea.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Maine Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is required, and cannot produce any excessive or unusual noise.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Maine are performed during each registration.
Some of the equipment requirements for Maine motorcycles include:
- Rearview mirror.
- Fenders on each wheel.
- Handlebar grips no higher than the rider’s shoulders.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Maine
There are no specific passenger restrictions for motorcycle in Maine.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Maine
Using daytime headlights is required for motorcycles in Maine.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Maine Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is illegal in Maine.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Maine issues titles to all motorcycles, except bikes that are older than model year 1995.
VIN verifications are performed for out-of-state motorcycles being registered in Maine.
If you buy a motorcycle without a title or are moving from a state that doesn’t issue titles, the registration documents and the Bill of Sale should serve as proof of ownership.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Maine.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Maine
Motorcycle insurance is required in Maine, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $100,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $25,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Maine.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is required for all new riders to get a motorcycle license in Maine.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the motorcycle skills test and written exam.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Maine?
Before you get a Maine motorcycle license, you will not need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Maine
A motorcycle instruction permit is not required.
If you do get a permit in Maine, restrictions include:
- No passengers.
- Helmet requirements.
The permit is valid for up to 2 years, and cannot be renewed.
Learn how to get a motorcycle license in Maine.
Maine Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Maine motorcycle licensing process is 16 years old.