⚠️ ATTENTION: Need to register or title your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please enter your ZIP to get started:
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Michigan.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Michigan
Motorcycle helmets are required for riders under 21 years old.
Additionally, eye protection like a face shield or goggles is also required unless the motorcycle has a windshield.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Michigan Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is required, and noise limits include:
- No more than 82 decibels when riding under 35 mph.
- No more than 86 decibels when riding over 35 mph.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Michigan are performed at random.
Some of the equipment requirements for Michigan motorcycles include:
- Rearview mirror.
- Handlebars no more than 30” above the seat.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Michigan
There are no motorcycle passenger restrictions in Michigan.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Michigan
Using daytime headlights is not required for motorcycles in Michigan.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Michigan Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is illegal in Michigan.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Michigan issues titles to all motorcycles.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Michigan.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Michigan
Motorcycle insurance is required in Michigan, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $20,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $40,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $10,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Michigan.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is required for riders under 18 years old and applicants who have failed the skills test twice to get a motorcycle license in Michigan.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the skills test and knowledge exam.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Michigan?
Before you get a Michigan motorcycle license, you will need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Michigan
A motorcycle instruction permit is not required as a first step..
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written test.
In Michigan, motorcycle permit restrictions include:
- No passengers.
- Daytime riding only.
- Supervised riding only.
- Helmet required.
The permit is valid for up to 180 days, and can be renewed twice within 10 years.
Michigan Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Michigan motorcycle licensing process is 18 years old without training or 16 years old if you complete a motorcycle safety course.