⚠️ ATTENTION: Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements when taking care of tasks for your motorcycle. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Mississippi.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Mississippi
Motorcycle helmets are required for all riders.
Additional eye protection like a face shield or goggles is not required.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Mississippi Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is required and cannot produce excessive or unusual noise.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Mississippi are not required.
Some of the equipment requirements for Mississippi motorcycles include:
- Rearview mirror.
- Fenders on both the front and rear wheels.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Mississippi
There are no passenger restrictions for motorcycles.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Mississippi
Using daytime headlights is not required for motorcycles in Mississippi.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Mississippi Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is not specifically mentioned as legal or illegal in Mississippi.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Mississippi issues titles to all motorcycles.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Mississippi.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Mississippi
Motorcycle insurance is required in Mississippi, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $25,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Mississippi.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is not required to get a motorcycle license in Mississippi.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the motorcycle road test.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Mississippi?
Before you get a Mississippi motorcycle license, you will need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Mississippi
A motorcycle instruction permit is required.
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written test.
In Mississippi, motorcycle permit restrictions include:
- No passengers.
- No riding on freeways.
- Daytime riding only.
- Helmet required.
The permit is valid for up to 2 years, and can be renewed as necessary.
Mississippi Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Mississippi motorcycle licensing process is 16 ½ years old.