⚠️ ATTENTION: Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements when taking care of tasks for your motorcycle. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Missouri.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Missouri
Motorcycle helmets are required for all riders.
Additional eye protection like a face shield or goggles is not required, but is a smart piece of equipment to ride with.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Missouri Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is required.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Missouri are performed with each registration.
Some of the equipment requirements for Missouri motorcycles include handlebars that are no more than 15” above the seat.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Missouri
There are no passenger restrictions for motorcycles in Missouri.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Missouri
Using daytime headlights is not required. for motorcycles in Missouri.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Missouri Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is not specifically mentioned as legal or illegal in Missouri.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Missouri issues titles to all motorcycles.
VIN verifications are performed when you register an out-of-state motorcycle.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Missouri.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Missouri
Motorcycle insurance is required in Missouri, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $10,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Missouri.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is not required to get a motorcycle license in Missouri.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the motorcycle road test and written test.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Missouri?
Before you get a Missouri motorcycle license, you will not need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Missouri
A motorcycle instruction permit is not required.
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written test.
In Missouri, motorcycle permit restrictions include:
- No passengers.
- Max displacement of 250cc.
- Daytime riding only.
- Riding only within a 50 mile radius from your home if you are under 16 years old.
The permit is valid for up to 6 months to 1 year, and can be renewed as needed.
Missouri Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Missouri motorcycle licensing process is 16 years old without training or 15 ½ years old if you complete a motorcycle safety course.