ATTENTION: Are you complying with your state's insurance laws? Make sure your coverage satisfies your state's requirements. Click below to compare coverage.
Please enter your zip to get started:
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Nevada.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Nevada
Motorcycle helmets are required for all riders.
Additionally, eye protection like a face shield or goggles is also required unless the bike has a windshield.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Nevada Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is required, and can be no louder than:
- 82 decibels when traveling under 35 mph.
- 86 decibels when traveling over 35 mph.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Nevada are not required.
Some of the equipment requirements for Nevada motorcycles include:
- Rearview mirror.
- Fenders on each wheel.
- Handlebars no higher than 6” above the rider’s shoulders.
- Turn signals.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Nevada
There are no passenger restrictions for motorcycles in Nevada.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Nevada
Using daytime headlights is not required for motorcycles in Nevada.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Nevada Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is illegal in Nevada.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Nevada issues titles to all motorcycles.
VIN verifications are performed when registering out-of-state motorcycles.
If you buy a motorcycle without a title or are moving from a state that doesn’t issue titles, the registration documents and the Bill of Sale should serve as proof of ownership.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Nevada.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Nevada
Motorcycle insurance is required in Nevada, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $15,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $30,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $10,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Nevada.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is required for riders under 18 years old if there is an approved program within 30 miles of their home in order to get a motorcycle license in Nevada.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the road test and written exam.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Nevada?
Before you get a Nevada motorcycle license, you will not need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Nevada
A motorcycle instruction permit is not required.
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written test.
In Nevada, motorcycle permit restrictions include:
- No passengers.
- No riding on the freeway.
- Daytime riding only.
- Supervised riding only.
The permit is valid for up to 1 year (under 18) or 6 months (over 18), and can be renewed 1 time for riders 18 years old or older..
Learn how to get a motorcycle license in Nevada.
Nevada Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Nevada motorcycle licensing process is 18 years old without training or 16 years old if you complete a motorcycle safety course.