⚠️ ATTENTION: Need to register or title your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please enter your ZIP to get started:
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in New Hampshire.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in New Hampshire
Motorcycle helmets are not required.
However, eye protection like a face shield or goggles is required unless the motorcycle is equipped with a windshield.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
New Hampshire Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is required. Noise limits for motorcycles are:
- 92 decibels at idle.
- 96 decibels at 2,000 RPM.
- 100 decibels at 5,000 RPM.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in New Hampshire are performed with each registration.
Some of the equipment requirements for New Hampshire motorcycles include:
- Rearview mirror.
- Fenders on each wheel.
- Turn signals.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in New Hampshire
There are not any motorcycle passenger age restrictions in New Hampshire.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in New Hampshire
Using daytime headlights is not required for motorcycles in New Hampshire.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
New Hampshire Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is illegal in New Hampshire.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of New Hampshire issues titles to all motorcycles, except bikes that are model year 1999 or older
VIN verifications are required to register abandoned motorcycles, antique motorcycles, and motorcycle from states that only title newer bikes.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in New Hampshire.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in New Hampshire
Motorcycle insurance is not required in New Hampshire, but it’s a good idea to opt for at least liability coverage. The minimum limits in NH are:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $25,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in New Hampshire.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is required for riders under 18 years old to get a motorcycle license in New Hampshire. A safety course will also be required for riders who fail the skills test twice.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the motorcycle road test and the knowledge exam.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in New Hampshire?
Before you get a New Hampshire motorcycle license, you will need to already have a standard driver’s license if you are younger than 18 years old.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in New Hampshire
A motorcycle instruction permit is not required.
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written exam.
In New Hampshire, motorcycle permit restrictions include:
- No passengers.
- Daylight riding only.
The permit is valid for up to 45 days, but can be renewed.
New Hampshire Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the New Hampshire motorcycle licensing process is 18 years old without training or 16 years old if you complete a motorcycle safety course.