ATTENTION: Are you complying with your state's insurance laws? Make sure your coverage satisfies your state's requirements. Click below to compare coverage.
Please enter your zip to get started:
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Ohio.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Ohio
Motorcycle helmets are required for riders under 18 years old.
Additionally, eye protection like a face shield or goggles is also required unless the bike is equipped with a windshield.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Ohio Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is required, and noise limits are:
- No more than 82 decibels under 35 mph.
- No more than 86 decibels over 35 mph.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Ohio are performed randomly.
Some of the equipment requirements for Ohio motorcycles include:
- Rearview mirror.
- Handlebars no higher than 15” above the seat and grips no higher than the rider’s shoulders.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Ohio
There are no motorcycle passenger age restrictions in Ohio.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Ohio
Using daytime headlights is not required for motorcycles in Ohio.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Ohio Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is not specifically mentioned as being legal or illegal in Ohio.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Ohio issues titles to all motorcycles.
VIN verifications are performed when registering out of state bikes.
If you buy a motorcycle without a title or are moving from a state that doesn’t issue titles, the registration documents and the Bill of Sale should serve as proof of ownership.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Ohio.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Ohio
Motorcycle insurance is required in Ohio, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $25,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Ohio.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is required for riders under 18 years old to get a motorcycle license in Ohio.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the motorcycle skills test.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Ohio?
Before you get an Ohio motorcycle license, you will not need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Ohio
A motorcycle instruction permit is required.
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written test.
In Ohio, motorcycle permit restrictions include:
- No passengers.
- Roadway restrictions.
- Daytime riding only.
- Helmet required.
The permit is valid for up to 1 year, and cannot be renewed.
Learn how to get a motorcycle license in Ohio.
Ohio Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Ohio motorcycle licensing process is 18 years old without training or 16 years old if you complete a motorcycle safety course.