This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Pennsylvania.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Pennsylvania
Motorcycle helmets are required for riders under 21 years old.
Additionally, eye protection like a face shield or goggles is also required.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Pennsylvania Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is required and can be no louder than the factory installed exhaust system.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Pennsylvania are performed during each registration period.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Pennsylvania
There are no age restrictions for motorcycle passengers in Pennsylvania.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Pennsylvania
Using daytime headlights is required for motorcycles in Pennsylvania.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Pennsylvania Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is illegal in Pennsylvania.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Pennsylvania issues titles to all motorcycles.
VIN verifications are required when you register an out-of-state motorcycle.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Pennsylvania.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Pennsylvania
Motorcycle insurance is required in Pennsylvania, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $15,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $30,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $5,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Pennsylvania.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is required for riders under 18 years old to get a motorcycle license in Pennsylvania.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the motorcycle road test.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Pennsylvania?
Before you get a Pennsylvania motorcycle license, you will not need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Pennsylvania
A motorcycle instruction permit is required.
If required, you’ll need to hold the learner’s permit and practice riding for at least 6 months if you are under 18 years old before getting an unrestricted motorcycle license.
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written test and skills test.
In Pennsylvania, motorcycle permit restrictions include:
- No passengers.
- Daytime riding only.
- Supervised riding only.
- Helmet required.
The permit is valid for up to 1 year, and cannot be renewed.
Pennsylvania Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Pennsylvania motorcycle licensing process is 18 years old without training or 16 ½ years old if you complete a motorcycle safety course.